My purpose of life is their misery... - Reisverslag uit Quepos, Costa Rica van Rianna Hijlkema - WaarBenJij.nu My purpose of life is their misery... - Reisverslag uit Quepos, Costa Rica van Rianna Hijlkema - WaarBenJij.nu

My purpose of life is their misery...

Door: Rianna Hijlkema

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rianna

07 Januari 2016 | Costa Rica, Quepos

No matter how you try to sugarcoat it, moving abroad is essentially a selfish choice.

It’s great that you’re living your dream and are choosing the life (you think) you want, but really, you’re not making anyone happy but yourself.

If you’re blessed with amazing family and friends, they will do anything to hide their true feelings from you.
They don’t want to burden you with their doubts, fears and “what on earth are you doing?!” thoughts. They will tell you, “If you’re happy, we’re happy, too!”

My parents, brothers and friends did an impressive job. By the time I left for Paris, Shanghai and Madrid, I was convinced my upcoming adventure was as exciting to them as it was to me. I was so busy with me, me and me, that I was completely and utterly oblivious to their pain.

Now, on my way to Nepal (with first a six-month stop in Costa Rica), I’m ready to dedicate myself to what gives my life meaning and purpose. And this sense of meaning and purpose gives me an inexhaustible drive. I’m focused, committed and lit up from the inside - I found the reason why i’m here on this planet. And in a gentle way I want to shake the world…

Ultimately, I think that we all must live our own lives and we must be free to travel and live where it makes us most whole and fulfilled. Some people were just born in the wrong time and place, and they must align themselves to where they’re truly meant to be.
But the last couple of weeks, I saw a sadness in my parents’ eyes that I had never seen before.

And when, after our final goodbyes this morning, I turned around one more time, they looked fragile, lost and 10 years older.

My purpose of life is their misery…
I'm so sorry...

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rianna

Bitten by the Travel Bug!!

Actief sinds 04 Aug. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 171
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33946

Voorgaande reizen:

07 Januari 2016 - 20 Juli 2016

Pura Vida!

14 Augustus 2012 - 25 December 2015

Ik neem Spanje als besluit..

17 April 2014 - 15 Mei 2014

Like a Local in Nepal

01 Juli 2013 - 15 Augustus 2013

AZIE - zomer 2013

19 Februari 2012 - 24 Juli 2012

Juf in Shanghai

23 Augustus 2011 - 10 Februari 2012

Mijn reis naar Parijs

Landen bezocht: